Current projects    

РНФюpngge.png

"Design of low-dimensional nanomaterials for artificial photosynthesis"

Russian Science Foundation , project 21-73-20183

2021-2024

Leader : Popov Zakhar

Abstract: Artificial photosynthesis is a chemical process that biomimizes the natural process of photosynthesis to convert sunlight, water, and carbon dioxide into carbohydrates and oxygen. The term artificial photosynthesis is commonly used to refer to any scheme for capturing and storing energy from sunlight in the chemical bonds of a fuel (solar fuel). The proposed study is aimed at finding new materials for the photocatalytic splitting of water with the formation of hydrogen and oxygen. 

РНФюpngge.png

"Novel 0D/2D heterostructures for photonics, sensoric and catalytic application"

Russian Science Foundation, project 21-73-10238

2021-2024

Leader : Dmitry Kvashnin

Abstract: Two-dimensional nanomaterials represent a promising platform for creating materials that have the potential to be used in a wide range of applications: optics, sensorics, catalysis. An obstacle to the widespread use of newly synthesized two-dimensional nanomaterials of various chemical compositions is their low stability in the environment under normal conditions. An alternative to the search for new low-dimensional structures can be the functionalization of the known structures of metal dichalcogenides (TMDs) and two-dimensional forms of carbon, such as graphene and its derivatives (graphene oxide (GO), reduced graphene oxide) in order to impart the desired properties to them. Thus, it is possible not only to increase their stability in the environment, but also to significantly improve their characteristics. 

The project is aimed at finding new scalable approaches for functionalizing the surface of two-dimensional nanomaterials with organic molecules to discover promising coatings not only to protect materials from degradation under the influence of environmental conditions, but also to endow this material and the entire new heterostructure obtained with a unique set of necessary properties for potential use in industry.

рффи лого_eng.jpg

"Search and study of new two-dimensional materials for use as biochemical sensors"

RFBR, project 20-53-05009 Arm_a

2021-2022

Leader: Popov Zakhar

Abstract: The focus of scientific interests in the field of low-dimensional nanostructures is increasingly shifting towards those two-dimensional materials, the synthesis of which is possible only in laboratory conditions. This is due to the fact that most of the two-dimensional materials that can be obtained from crystalline materials of natural origin with a layered structure (graphene, transition metal dichalcogenides, etc.) have already been extensively studied. Theoretical approaches to predicting and studying new materials can significantly reduce the time spent on experimental synthesis and research of materials that are promising for use in electronics, catalysis, and sensorics.

The search for new low-dimensional materials with a high specific surface area and high sensitivity for sensing is an extremely difficult task from an experimental point of view. To accelerate the process of searching for new materials in this project, it is proposed to use the methods of theoretical materials science.

"Development of an effective approach for calculating the piezoelectric properties of nanomaterials"

Grants of the President of the Russian Federation

2021-2022

Leader: Dmitry Kvashnin

Abstract: At present, the effect of the influence of point defects on the appearance of piezoelectricity in low-dimensional materials is still not studied. In addition, there are a number of limitations that impede the development of these studies. All of them are associated with the lack of effective methods for predicting piezoelectric coefficients. During the implementation of the project, an approach will be developed to assess the dependence of the arising electric polarization along the selected directions, based only on the atomic geometry of the nanostructure. For this, a database of changes in local dipole moments on bonds in nanostructures under mechanical deformations will be collected, based on multiple results of calculations using the theory of the electron density functional. The proposed approach will first be tested on a known material - hexagonal boron nitride, after which it will be used to study the effects of point defects on the appearance of the piezoelectric effect in graphene.

 

  Completed projects    

РНФюpngge.png

"Development of effective methods for modeling the formation of quasi-two-dimensional materials and study of their atmospheric stability"

Russian Science Foundation , project 18-73-10135

2018-2021

Leader : Dmitry Kvashnin

Abstract: The main efforts of modern materials science are aimed at obtaining new materials with promising properties in a controlled way, which requires a deep understanding of the mechanisms of their formation. It is also extremely important to assess the stability of the atomic structure of the obtained materials in the atmosphere. These tasks can be solved by a detailed theoretical analysis using modern methods of computer modeling. This project is devoted to the study of a recently discovered class of materials - two-dimensional films, many of which demonstrate unique properties.
Thus, the project proposes to develop an effective method that allows solving such important problems of materials science as (i) understanding the processes of formation of two-dimensional nanostructures on substrates of various compositions; (ii) control of atmospheric stability of 2D nanostructures.
In the first part of the project, the development, adaptation and expansion of the evolutionary algorithm will be carried out.  for modeling the formation of low-dimensional nanostructures on substrates. For the first time, the new method will make it possible to effectively predict the crystal structure of low-dimensional materials (2D films from one and several layers  and planar heterostructures based on them) of arbitrary composition, consisting of more than 2 types of atoms, on various substrates, depending on external parameters (temperature, pressure). At the moment, such studies are not carried out in the world.
In the second part of the project, it is proposed to study the atmospheric stability of materials predicted at the first stage of the project, namely to study the process of defect formation in their structure under the influence of various molecular groups contained in the atmosphere. Possible ways to stabilize two-dimensional materials in case of their instability under normal conditions will be determined. This study is fundamentally important for the further development of 2D materials science, since it will allow us to determine promising structures that can operate for a long time in electronic devices.

Publications

1. Peto J., Ollar T., Vancso P., Popov Z.I., Magda G.Z., Dobrik G., Hwang C., Sorokin P.B., Tapaszto L. Spontaneous doping of the basal plane of MoS2 single layers through oxygen substitution under ambient conditions Nature Chemistry, 10,1246-1251 (2018), doi: 10.1038/s41557-018-0136-2

2. Péter Vancsó, Zakhar I. Popov, János Pető, Tamás Ollár, Gergely Dobrik, József S. Pap, Chanyong Hwang, Pavel B. Sorokin, and Levente Tapasztó Transition metal chalcogenide single-layers as an active platform for single atom catalysis ACS Energy Letters, 8, 4, 1947-1953 (2019), doi: 10.1021/acsenergylett.9b01097

3. Alexander G. Kvashnin, Dmitry G. Kvashnin & Artem R. Oganov Novel Unexpected Reconstructions of (100) and (111) Surfaces of NaCl: Theoretical Prediction Scientific Reports, 9,14267-14275 (2019), doi: 10.1038/s41598-019-50548-8

4. Sukhanova E.V., Popov Z.I., Kvashnin D.G. Theoretical Study of the Electronic and Optical Properties of a Heterostructure Based on PTCDA Organic Semiconductor and MoSe2 JETP Letters, (2020), doi: 10.31857/S123456782011004X

5. Kseniya A. Tikhomirova, Christian Tantardini, Ekaterina V. Sukhanova, Zakhar I. Popov, Stanislav A. Evlashin*, Mikhail A. Tarkhov, Vladislav L. Zhdanov, Alexander A. Dudin, Artem R. Oganov, Dmitry G. Kvashnin, and Alexander G. Kvashnin Exotic Two-Dimensional Structure: The First Case of Hexagonal NaCl The Journal of Physical Chemistry Letters, 11, 3821-3827 (2020), doi: 10.1021/acs.jpclett.0c00874

6. Sukhanova E.V., Kvashnin D.G., Popov Z.I., Induced Spin Polarization in Graphene via Interaction with Halogen Doped MoS2 and MoSe2 Monolayers by DFT Calculations Nanoscale, 12, 23248 - 23258 (2020), doi: 10.1039/D0NR06287A

Текущие проекты    

"Дизайн низкоразмерных наноматериалов для искусственного фотосинтеза"

РНФ, проект 21-73-20183

2021-2024

Руководитель: Попов Захар Иванович

Краткое описание: Искусственный фотосинтез - это химический процесс, который биомимикрирует естественный процесс фотосинтеза для преобразования солнечного света, воды и углекислого газа в углеводы и кислород. Термин искусственный фотосинтез обычно используется для обозначения любой схемы захвата и хранения энергии солнечного света в химических связях топлива (солнечного топлива). Предлагаемое исследование направлено на поиск новых материалов для реализации фотокаталитического расщепления воды с образованием водорода и кислорода. 

 

Публикации в рамках проекта:

1. Popov Z.I., Sukhanova E.V., Kvashnin D.G. Metallocene Inspired 2D metal intercalated carbon allotropes: stability and properties via DFT calculations Carbon, 184, 714-720 (2021), doi: 10.1016/j.carbon.2021.08.074

"Новые 0D/2D гетероструктуры для фотоники, сенсорики и катализа"

РНФ, проект 21-73-10238

2021-2024

Руководитель: Квашнин Дмитрий Геннадьевич

Краткое описание: Двумерные наноматериалы представляют собой перспективную платформу для создания материалов, имеющих потенциал для использования в широком диапазоне применений: оптике, сенсорике, катализе. Препятствием на пути к повсеместному применению вновь синтезируемых двумерных наноматериалов различного химического состава является их низкая стабильность в окружающей среде при нормальных условиях. Альтернативой к поиску новых низкоразмерных структур может служить функционализация известных структур дихалькогенидов металлов (ДПМ) и двумерных форм углерода, таких как графен и его производные (оксид графена (ОГ), восстановленный оксид графена) с целью придания им желаемых свойств. Таким образом возможно не только повысить их стабильность в окружающей среде, но и значительно улучшить их характеристики. 

Проект нацелен на поиск новых масштабируемых подходов по функционализации поверхности двумерных наноматериалов органическими молекулами для обнаружения перспективных покрытий не только для защиты материалов от деградации под воздействием окружающих условий, но и для наделения данного материала и всей получаемой новой гетероструктуры уникальным набором необходимых свойств для потенциального применения в индустрии. 

 

Публикации в рамках проекта:

1. Z.I. Popov, K.A. Tikhomirova, V.A. Demin, S. Chowdhury, A.R. Oganov, A.G. Kvashnin, D.G. Kvashnin Novel two-dimensional boron oxynitride predicted using the USPEX evolutionary algorithm PCCP, 23, 26178-26184 (2021), doi: 10.1039/D1CP03754D

2. N.D. Orekhov, J.V. Bondareva, D.O. Potapov, P.V. Dyakonov, O.N. Dubinin, M.A. Tarkhov, G.D. Diudbin, K.I. Maslakov, M.A. Logunov, D.G. Kvashnin, S.A. Evlashin Mechanism of graphene oxide laser reduction at ambient conditions: Experimental and ReaxFF study Carbon, 191, 546-554 (2022), doi: 10.1016/j.carbon.2022.02.018

"Поиск и исследование новых двумерных материалов для применения в качестве биохимических сенсоров"

РФФИ, проект 20-53-05009 Арм_а

2021-2022

Руководитель: Попов Захар Иванович

Краткое описание: Фокус научных интересов в области низкоразмерных наноструктур все больше смещается в сторону тех двумерным материалов, синтез которых возможен только в лабораторных условиях. Это происходит из-за того, что большинство двумерных материалов, получение которых возможно из кристаллических материалов природного происхождения, имеющих слоистую структуру (графен, дихалькогениды переходных металлов и пр.) уже были подвергнуты всестороннему исследованию. Теоретические подходы предсказания и исследования новых материалов позволяют значительно сократить затраты времени на экспериментальный синтез и исследование материалов, перспективных для применения в электронике, катализе и сенсорике.

Поиск новых низкоразмерных материалов, обладающих высокой удельной площадью поверхности и высокой чувствительностью для сенсорики является крайне сложной задачей с экспериментальной точки зрения. Для ускорения процесса поиска новых материалов в данном проекте предлагается использовать методы теоретического материаловедения.

Публикации в рамках проекта:

1. I.V. Chepkasov, E.V. Sukhanova, A.G. Kvashnin, H.A. Zakaryan, M.A. Aghamalyan, Y.Sh. Mamasakhlisov, A.M. Manakhov, Z.I. Popov, D.G. Kvashnin Computational Design of Gas Sensors Based on V3S4 Monolayer Nanomaterials, 12, 5, 774 (2022), doi: 0.3390/nano12050774 

2. Е. В. Суханова, А. Г. Квашнин, М. А. Агамалян, А. А. Захарян, З. И. Попов Карта двумерных соединений халькогенидов вольфрама (W-S, W-Se, W-Te) на основе эволюционного поиска USPEX Письма в ЖЭТФ, 115, 5, 322 (2022), doi: 10.31857/S1234567822050093

3. Sukhanova, E. V., Kvashnin, A. G., Bereznikova, L. A., Zakaryan, H. A., Aghamalyan, M. A., Kvashnin, D. G., & Popov, Z. I. 2D-Mo3S4 phase as promising contact for MoS2. Applied Surface Science, 152971 (2022), doi: 10.1016/j.apsusc.2022.152971

"Разработка эффективного подхода для расчета пьезоэлектрических свойств наноматериалов"

Гранты Президента Российской Федерации

2021-2022

Руководитель: Квашнин Дмитрий Геннадьевич

Краткое описание: В настоящее время, до сих пор является не изученным эффект влияния точечных дефектов на появление пьезоэлектричества в низкоразмерных материалах. Кроме того, существует ряд ограничений, препятствующих развитию данных исследований. Все они связаны с отсутствием эффективных методик предсказания пьезоэлектрических коэффициентов. В ходе реализации проекта будет разработан подход для оценки зависимости возникающей электрической поляризации вдоль выделенных направлений, основываясь только лишь на атомной геометрии наноструктуры. Для этого будет собрана база данных изменения локальных дипольных моментов на связях в наноструктур при механических деформациях, основанная на множественных результатах расчетов с помощью теории функционала электронной плотности. Предлагаемый подход будет сначала апробировать на известном материале – гексагональном нитриде бора, после чего с его помощью будут изучены эффекты влияния точечных дефектов на появление пьезоэффекта в графене.

Публикации в рамках проекта:

1. Z.I. Popov, K.A. Tikhomirova, V.A. Demin, S. Chowdhury, A.R. Oganov, A.G. Kvashnin, D.G. Kvashnin Novel two-dimensional boron oxynitride predicted using the USPEX evolutionary algorithm PCCP, 23, 26178-26184 (2021), doi: 10.1039/D1CP03754D

 

    Завершенные проекты    

"Разработка эффективных методов моделирования образования квазидвумерных материалов и исследование их атмосферной стабильности"

РНФ, проект 18-73-10135

2018-2021

Руководитель: Квашнин Дмитрий Геннадьевич

Краткое описание: Основные усилия современного материаловедения направлены на получение новых материалов с перспективными свойствами контролируемым путём, для чего необходимо глубокое понимание механизмов их формирования. Также крайне важным является оценка стабильности атомной структуры полученных материалов в атмосфере. Эти задачи могут быть решены путём детального теоретического анализа современными методами компьютерного моделирования. Данный проект посвящён исследованию недавно открытого класса материалов – двумерных плёнок, многие представители которого демонстрируют уникальные свойства.
Так, в проекте предлагается разработать эффективный метод, позволяющий решить такие важные задачи материаловедения как (i) понимание процессов образования двумерных наноструктур на подложках различного состава; (ii) контроль атмосферной стабильности 2D наноструктур.
В первой части проекта будет проведена разработка, адаптация и расширение эволюционного алгоритма  для проведения моделирования образования низкоразмерных наноструктур на подложках. Новый метод впервые позволит эффективно предсказывать кристаллическую структуру низкоразмерных материалов (2D плёнок из одного и нескольких слоёв  и планарных гетероструктур на их основе) произвольного состава, состоящих из более чем 2х типов атомов, на различных подложках в зависимости от внешних параметров (температура, давление). В настоящий момент такие исследования в мире не проводятся.
Во второй части проекта предлагается изучить атмосферную стабильность материалов, предсказанных на первом этапе выполнения проекта, а именно исследовать процесс дефектообразования в их структуре под влиянием различных молекулярных групп, содержащихся в атмосфере окружающей среды. Будут определены возможные способы стабилизации двумерных материалов в случае их нестабильности при нормальных условиях. Данное исследование принципиально важно для дальнейшего развития 2D материаловедения, поскольку позволит определить перспективные структуры способные работать длительное время в электронных устройствах.

 

Публикации в рамках проекта:

1. Peto J., Ollar T., Vancso P., Попов З.И., Magda G.Z., Dobrik G., Hwang C., Сорокин П.Б., Tapaszto L. Spontaneous doping of the basal plane of MoS2 single layers through oxygen substitution under ambient conditions Nature Chemistry, 10,1246-1251 (2018), doi: 10.1038/s41557-018-0136-2

2. Ванчо П., Попов З.И., Пето Дж., Оллар Т., Добрик Г., Пап Дж.С., Хванг Ч.Ю., Сорокин П.Б., Тапасто Л. Transition metal chalcogenide single-layers as an active platform for single atom catalysis ACS Energy Letters, 8, 4, 1947-1953 (2019), doi: 10.1021/acsenergylett.9b01097

3. Квашнин А.Г., Квашнин Д.Г., Оганов А.Р. Novel Unexpected Reconstructions of (100) and (111) Surfaces of NaCl: Theoretical Prediction Scientific Reports, 9,14267-14275 (2019), doi: 10.1038/s41598-019-50548-8

4. Суханова Е.В., Попов З.И., Квашнин ДГ Теоретическое исследование электронных и оптических свойств гетероструктуры на основе молекул органического полупроводника PTCDA и MoSe2 Письма в ЖЭТФ, (2020), doi: 10.31857/S123456782011004X

5. Тихомирова К.А., Тантардини К., Суханова Е.В., Попов З.И., Евлашин С.А., Тархаров М.А., Жданов В.Л., Дудин А.А., Оганов а.Р., Квашнин Д.Г., Квашнин А.Г. Exotic Two-Dimensional Structure: The First Case of Hexagonal NaCl The Journal of Physical Chemistry Letters, 11, 3821-3827 (2020), doi: 10.1021/acs.jpclett.0c00874

6. Е.В. Суханова, Д.Г. Квашнин, З.И. Попов Induced Spin Polarization in Graphene via Interaction with Halogen Doped MoS2 and MoSe2 Monolayers by DFT Calculations Nanoscale, 12, 23248 - 23258 (2020), doi: 10.1039/D0NR06287A